2012 IAFL Schedule Published – New Format Announced.

This years IAFL will be contested by a record 11 teams. The Tullamore Phoenix step up from DV8s level to join the ten sides who contested the 2011 season. The regular will start in late February, which is earlier than in previous years. It will conclude on June 10th. The play-offs and Shamrock Bowl will take place from mid June to mid July.

The big change this year is that the structure has been changed from 3 regional divisions to 2 regional divisions – IAFL North and IAFL South. These divisions will have 5 and 6 teams respectively as opposed to either 3 or 4 under last years format. This change gives a better balance between the divisions.  Consequently there will be some changes to the play-off structure. The top team in each division will host a Semi-Final.  Each 3rd placed team will travel to the 2nd placed team in their division in the Wildcard round.

As with last year, each team will play 8 regular season games. Most teams will play all the teams in their division once and a selection of teams in the other division. This is a change from last years format whereby teams played home and away against all divisional opponenets. However, the change gives teams a greater variety of opponents as well more common opponents.

There are 4 doubleheaders scheduled for the upcoming season where four teams will play at one venue on the same day. Each of these should be great day out for IAFL supporters.

The schedule and divisional standings can be found below. Please note that there are a small number confirmations to be made, so please check this site regularly for updates. One of these confirmations is the annual Colours match between Trinity College and UCD.


[standings league_id=27 season=2012 group=north mode=extend]
[standings league_id=27 season=2012 group=south mode=extend]

2012 IAFL Schedule

[matches league_id=27 season=2012 mode=all template=iafl-weeks]