Derek Ward appointed to the IAFA Board

Derek Ward has been coopted onto the IAFA Board to fill the final vacant internal place on the Board. His term of office will be until the AGM in late 2014.

Derek has a long association with the sport going back to the 1980s/1990s when he played with the Dublin Celts. He was Head Coach of the Dublin Lightning team which won Shamrock Bowl XI in 1996. He took a few years out of football from the late 1990s onwards during which time he was heavily involved in softball in a number of roles including manager of the Irish National Softball team. In recent years he returned to football as a member of the West Dublin Rhinos coaching staff.

The IAFA Board now consists of the following people:

Michael Smith (President), Matt Craig, John Judge, Declan McNally, Alan Orr, Ciaran O’Sullivan, Cillian Smith & Derek Ward